Althams Travel

Kathryn Stott
Opticians

Home  ::  forums  ::  contact

The Yeadon High Street

Yeadon High Street was built directly over an old stream which led down the slope from Yeadon Tarn. The stream was culverted beneath the cobbles, and eventually the culverting was extending down Kirk Lane as new mills were built closer to the water supply and the junction with the canal at Apperley Bridge (as a result of which many of the houses in Kirk Lane experience periodical flooding of the cellars!).

Above – The Yeadon Crest from a guide to Yeadon 1933

Above – The bottom corner – just above the steep of the High Street. The ‘Chipindales’ shop was later relocated to Guiseley and now has been divided into 2 shops

In The Beginning

The Town Hall

Leisure & Entertainment

Industry

Yeadon Cricket Club

Yeadon High Street

Yeadon: 1933

Transportation